The organisation of the conference is undertaken by Dublin City University and the University of Limerick through the STEM education research centres of CASTeL and EPI-STEM.

The Organising Committee consists of researchers in the field of science education:

Steering Committee
Professor Eilish McLoughlin (Conference President)
Professor Odilla Finlayson
Professor Sibel Erduran
Dr. Peter Childs

Local Organising Committee
Dr. Anna Walshe
Dr. Anne O’Dwyer
Dr. Audrey O’Grady
Professor Cliona Murphy
Professor Colette Murphy
Dr. Enda Carr
Professor James Lovatt
Dr. John O’Reilly
Professor Padraig Murphy
Professor Paul van Kampen
Dr. Sarah Hayes
Professor Tom McCloughlin

International Scientific Committee
Professor Odilla Finlayson (Head of committee)
Professor Sibel Erduran (Vice-Head of committee)The main responsibility for the review process and the scientific programme of the ESERA 2017 conference rests with an international committee of experienced science education researchers. This committee comprises of the members of the ESERA Executive Board and the Strand Chairpersons.

ESERA Executive Board
Professor Costas P. Constantinou – ESERA President –  University of Cyprus, Nicosia, Cyprus
Professor Sibel Erduran – Member – University of Oxford, UK and University of Limerick, Ireland
Professor Mariona Espinet – Member – Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain
Professor Robert Evans – Member – University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Professor Ellen Karoline Henriksen – Member – University of Oslo, Norway
Professor Eilish McLoughlin– Co-opted member – Dublin City University, Ireland
Professor Gjalt T. Prins – Treasurer – University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
Professor Jim Ryder – Secretary  – University of Leeds, United Kingdom
Professor Iva Stuchlíková – Co-opted member – University of South Bohemia, Czech Republic

Strand Chairpersons
Professor Odilla Finlayson
Professor Roser Pinto
Professor Russell Tytler
Professor Graca Carvalho
Professor Sabine Fechner
Professor Andree Tiberghien
Professor Eleni Kyza
Professor Kalle Juuti
Professor Nikos Papadouris
Professor Dimitris Psillos
Professor Irene Neumann
Professor Veli-Matti Vesterinen
Professor Maria Andrée
Professor Jouni Viiri
Professor Jan Alexis Nielsen
Professor Mats Lindahl
Professor Albert Zeyer
Professor Marianne Achiam
Professor Andreas Redfors
Professor Jim Ryder
Professor Jens Dolin
Professor Per Morton Kind
Professor Margareta Enghag
Professor Henriette Holmegaard
Professor Maria Evagorou
Professor Marisa Michelini
Professor Manuela Welzel-Breuer
Professor Digna Couso
Professor Maria Kallery
Professor Bodil Sundberg
Professor Petros Kariotoglou
Professor Terry Russell
Professor Jenaro Guisasola
Professor Jan Lundell
Professor Justin Dillon
Professor Marianne Odegaard